Home Inmate Roster Most Wanted Press Releases Sex Offenders Warrants Contact Us
Baxter County Sheriff
Captain's Newsletter FAQ History of the Sheriff Cold Cases Employment Deadbeat Dads and Moms
History of the Sheriff's Office - Click photo for more information

Sheriff John Montgomery
Term: 2005 - present

Sheriff Montgomery was elected to the position of Sheriff of Baxter County and took office in January 2005.

Sheriff Montgomery was born in West Plains, Missouri, the son of Hubert and Veva Montgomery. He is married to Karen and they live with son, Michael in Mountain Home.

Sheriff Montgomery served fifteen years with the Mountain Home Police Department (1988 to 2003), retiring with the rank of Lieutenant. He implemented the first computer system at the Police Department and helped design and program the first computerized dispatch there.

Sheriff Montgomery has served on the 911 Advisory Board and worked with city and county officials in the implementation of the 911 System in Baxter County. He was appointed to the State Steering Committee Board for the implementation of the National Incident Base Reporting System for the State of Arkansas. He has served as Legislative Chairman for the Arkansas Sheriff's Association and been very active in the community and has also served on numerous private and civic boards.

Sheriff Montgomery's passion is working with kids. He was very active in the Adopt-a-Cop children's education program at Nelson Wilkes-Heron School, working with elementary students for many years. He has worked with various youth organizations, including Boy Scouts, Cub Scouts and helped organized several sports programs in the area. He coached youth baseball, football and basketball teams for a number of years.


Sheriff Montgomery graduated from West Plains High School in 1977. He holds the Associate of Applied Science in Criminal Justice degree from Arkansas State University Mountain Home. He graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected class speaker by the faculty and student body for the graduation ceremony. Sheriff Montgomery holds numerous law enforcement teaching and training certifications


Sheriff John Montgomery
Term: 2005 - present

Sheriff Joe H. Edmonds
Term: 1999 - 2004 (2nd term)

Sheriff Charlie Garrison
Term: 1997 - 1998

Sheriff Benny Magness
Term: 1995 - 1996

Sheriff Joe H. Edmonds
Term: 1979 - 1995 (1st term)

Sheriff R.R. "Jack" Gregory
Term: 1971 - 1978 (2nd term)

Sheriff Don C. Cockrum
Term: 1969 - 1970

Sheriff Pauline Edmonds
Term: 1968 - 1968

Sheriff Emmett Edmonds
Term: 1963 - 1968

Sheriff R.R. "Jack" Gregory
Term: 1957 - 1962 (1st term)

Sheriff J.D. King
Term: 1951 - 1956

Sheriff Ernie Gentry
Term: 1945 - 1950

Sheriff Harvey S. Powell
Term: 1941 - 1944

Sheriff Jim Martin
Term: 1928 - 1940 (2nd term)

Sheriff Robert Sims Hurst
Term: 1925 - 1928 (2nd term)

Sheriff Jim Martin
Term: 1921 - 1925 (1st term)

Sheriff Robert Sims Hurst
Term: 1913 - 1921 (1st term)

Sheriff Leon Mooney
Term: 1907 - 1912

Sheriff Eugene Mooney
Term: 1904 - 1907

Sheriff R. H. Hudson
Term: 1901 - 1904

Sheriff G. W. Foster
Term: 1897 - 1900

Sheriff R. M. Hancock
Term: 1895 - 1896

Sheriff W.F. Eatman
Term: 1894 - 1894

Sheriff Samuel Livingston
Term: 1893 - 1894

Sheriff C.A. Eatman
Term: 1892 - 1892

Sheriff Abraham G. Byler
Term: 1891 - 1892 (2nd term)

Sheriff Jacob H. Wolf
Term: 1885 - 1890

Sheriff Abraham G. Byler
Term: 1873 - 1884 (1st term)
Emergency - 911, Phone 870-425-7000 (24 Hours) Mountain Home Police | Baxter County Government | Arkansas Sheriffs' Association | Chamber of Commerce

Phone: 870-425-7000 (24 hours) • Fax: 870-424-4048 • Email • 904 Hwy 62 W. • Mountain Home, AR 72653 Map Administrative Office Hours: M-F 8am-4:30pm
Most Wanted Websites by Brooks Jeffrey Marketing